| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

I would like to thank the academy . . .
2009-03-01, 8:28 p.m.

My dream isn't necessarily to give an acceptance speech (though it would be nice) but I would so love sincerely to be thanked in one. For any good I do in my short time on earth to be so moving as to be acknowledged. I take an example from my sisters blog . . .

"where i used to have no confidence, no self esteem, and zero self assurance, i have now become a strong, confident independent fiercesome woman to behold. i would like to thank my sister and my father."

When I watched the Oscars on Sunday, when I wasn't jumping up and down on my fragile plum colored futon screaming in joy at the Slumdog wins, I was crying at the acceptance speeches. I mean even japanese "I love film" guy made me burst into tears. To love something so entirely, something that gives nothing back. To be so passionate about a profession or an art that you dedicate life itself in its honor is a beautiful thing to do. But in order for someone to be able to accomplish that, there have to be people around them willing to dedicate time to that person.

I think my talent is fitting in that slot. Being a buttress for the talented people around me.

But I will say with no shame that I have a few talents myself. And if the occasion rises that I have to give an acceptance speech of my own (I practiced it in the shower after I was done watching the academy awards and almost started crying) these are the people I would thank-

1) My middle school librarian, and my 7th grade science teacher.
2) My sturdiest and most steadfast friend on this earth- Fedora.
3) All of the writers, musicians and artists who have inspired and guided me.
5) My siblings for being my greatest source of inspiration
6) My parents. Above all my parents.

Who would you thank?

|