| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

Happy Mardi Gras!
2009-02-24, 2:04 p.m.

So I decided to use Mardi Gras break to write my thesis. I'm really happy that I am because I've just jotted down 8 pages of what could possible pass for a thesis.
So my the purpose of my thesis is to look at how different coping strategies (specifically substance abuse, avoidant cognitive and avoidant behavioral coping) affect PTSD symptoms. So, in a nutshell, bad things happens to someone (fire, rape, abuse, war) and that person has enough of a negative response that they then develop Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. People use coping mechanisms to deal with the symptoms of PTSD such as flashbacks, intrusive thoughts, bouts of anger because of trouble controlling emotions, etc.

They can either cope with the trauma by using positive problem solving techniques (more likely with people who are middle, upper class, and that have high social support) or they can respond with negative coping strategies such as drugs (my particular interest), trying not to think about the bad things that happened, trying to avoid things that remind them of that particularly bad event, getting angry and "blowing off steam."

There are gender differences. Males and females are equally likely to develop PTSD after sexual abuse/rape in childhood or adulthood, but females are more likely to develop PTSD after an event like an accident or a natural disaster (like hurricane katrina, which is what my study sample experienced).

Of course the type of drug, the severity of exposure, among a plethora of other things affect the development and recovery from PTSD.

I'm actually not quiet sure why I'm blogging about this other than IT'S SO FASCINATING!! I'm super excited about learning about it.

So I slammed out 8 pages on it, but I just don't feel like I'm done. My intro is missing something but I don't know what.

Back to work!

|