| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

I want to go back to Austin!
2008-10-08, 11:24 p.m.

I CAN'T BELIEVE I'M MISSING THIS!!

This election is so exciting, and I'm over here at friggin tulane where nothing is going on! If McCain gets voted in, THE WORLD WILL END, and there's nothing over here. Nada. In fact, those that I generally talk to politics about other then Kalyn either don't care or are republicans. The apathy is just excruciating, especially when this election's getting me so pumped.

Kinda made me wish I was back at UT. Politics over here SUCK. There weren't even any voter registration tables around campus. At UT you can't walk to class without being malled by UDems or SOMEONE trying to get you to register. It's so damn sad.
Not even kidding, I feel so holed up and isolated from the things that matter to me as far as social justice and politics that I have half a mind to just quit and go back to Austin. I mean I'm making working to create interventions to help kids in school and to reform schools and make stuff more multi culturally sensitive etc. but it's taking so damn LONG.

"Subject: Come and Take It!

UDems!

Connor and Blake, two fellow UDems, had two "Obama-Noriega" signs in their dorm windows. As we all know, the University has decided that you cannot express your political opinion in your dorms, and the University asked them to take them down.

These two gentleman did not remove their signs and were asked to appear at hearings today before the Judicial Board today. In seperate hearings, they asserted their right to free speech, and the University Democrats rallied in support of these two right outside the hearing room.

Having refused to comply with an order to remove the signs by 7pm today, these two men have been barred from registering for Spring Classes. Now, they face the possibility of more extensive judicial action, which could culminate in them being expelled from the dorms.

We have been on every TV Station in town and in every news paper ACROSS THE STATE! We are telling the University that the CONSTITUTION does apply to our dorms, and that they cannot infringe on our right to free speech and political expression."

|