| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

Oops- I did it again . . .
2008-07-26, 5:06 p.m.

So I do this thing every once in awhile, when I get really stressed out, where I start questioning my future, and find out that everything Im doing is wrong. Today I almost started crying because I thought that really I should be a marine biologist. I was packing away all my biology books, and I just burst into tears. Im going into psychology, where's the biology in that!!!! I LOVE psychology, but biology is like my hobby.

Then I sat back and said "hey stupid, you're doing it again" and listed all the reasons I chose school psychology instead of public health or animal behaviorism or marine biology,botany, or zoology. Because I can't grow anything or take care of any animals because I get excited about something in the first 10 mintues, then lose interest. Well I'm not as bad as all that, but I do tend to lose interest quickly in those kinds of things. My favorite classes to date have been economic botany, genetics and abnormal psychology. But it's because of the problem solving and human component.

Then I took a personality test for fun, and it made me feel even better.
http://www.careertest.net/types/descriptions/entj.htm

so, there we go. I had an episode and my therapist would have been happy to hear that I overcame it within an hour instead of endlessly researching useless facts, looking for things, anything, to give me a sense of peace, reassurance that I made the right decision.

But it's not about making the right decision for me. I've always been able to take whatever I'm doing and take it where I want it to go. It's the journey that Im always worried about. I want it to be fruitful and exciting and satisfying. But there's NOTHING that will be described as such. I just have to get as close as possible and then make that journey my own.

So that's what I did when I chose school psychology, I was just doubting myself for a bit, and now I went back to the root of why I was freaking out, calmed myself down, and gained perspective.
I am so awesome!

Much love!

|