| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"I want to take hold of this sinking ship . . . but I'm not what you need. I'm only so much stronger. But you are such a pleasent fiction to me, so I guess that I'll dream of you a little longer" Joe Purdy
2010-02-22, 3:37 p.m.

I can NOT stop listening to this damn album.
http://joepurdy.com/sessionsfrommotorave.php

Im having the same visceral reaction to it that I had with Alanis' "Jagged Little Pill" senior year of high school, and Regina's "Beginning to Hope" summer before my junior year of college, or Buckley's "Mystery White Boy" CD, senior year of college. Some albums just DO that to you.


I was rereading Brave New World today for something like the thousandth time, and I'd forgotten about a particular quote I enjoy.


"And that," put in the Director sententiously, "that is the secret of happiness and virtue-liking what you've got to do. All conditioning aims at that: making people like their inescapable social destiny."
- Aldous Huxley, Brave New World, Ch. 1

It makes me think of "generation x" like fish flopping around on a deck looking for water while a huge, incandescent blue and refreshing water source is only a foot away. They just need to quit flopping and look around for a second to find that what they're panicking about, what they're looking for, is right fucking there.
Just fun imagery. I wish I could paint, or draw properly.


|