| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Baby got the whole world standin up"
2009-12-29, 12:48 p.m.

Went for a run today. Went a bit over 25 min.- would have kept going except I misjudged distance and ran both the neighborhoods around my house twice, and decided to just stop at my house instead of go a third time. It gets annoying after awhile.

The best part? It was raining, and so cold my shirt and pants froze. I felt beyond badass. Like reebok commercial amazing.

And oddly enough, my dad helped me design my tattoo yesterday night. Funny guy. He kept saying he'd kill me if I got one, while drawing it out. I told him about my ideas, and he gave me a word in arabic he felt fit me better- basically means the courage to be determined, and courage from determination. Arabic's a very . . . flowerly language. You get that same feeling about hindi culture, except much of that work doesn't have to be translated since it's written in English first, thanks to British colonization and all (animals people, god of small things, life of pi). Lots of imagery in the culture of the language that's mirrored in english writing. With arabic literature, when it's translated it just doesn't read as well. Especially poetry. You do have some amazing arab american poets however that can draw from that culture of language, yet to find any arab american novelists that I die over however. Suheir hammad has new prose work coming out though . . . yay!

Enough babble.

|