| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Pour some suga' on me"
2009-10-25, 4:12 p.m.

So after much debate and indecisiveness on my part, I finally went down to Bourbon tonight. I can say with absolute honesty that it was the most fun I'd had in a long time. The trick to Bourbon is to stay sober and alert. There is so much to observe about human behavior on Bourbon- from crying, throwing up, drunk people taking pictures for other drunk people, people falling down and those around said person helping him up, the looks of longing, the looks of ecstasy, that look people get when they're "in the zone" and dancing and singing like they're the only ones currently alive. Of course there are the multiple forms of self expression, from girl wearing next to nothing, and men covered head to foot in tattoo's. This is normal though, nothing particularly remarkable. That notes a normal night on Bourbon.
Tonight though I noted something I hadn't really felt before- community. There were the normal dedications to bachelor's, and bachelorettes- but then there were special dedications for soldiers who had come back from Iraq, regular bar singers there for their last night, and just a general sense of community. It was unexpected, so notable.

Anyways, enough of that. It's getting late (early?) and I'm up early tomorrow.

Much love.

P.S. The music tonight was fun too! Lots of 90's. However, there are these songs they recycle bar to bar, every single fucking night, and all I can think is "move on already!" See this entry's title for an example.

|