| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Did you want advice for love and life, well this was all we knew" The Duke Spirit, Into the Fold
2009-10-11, 9:59 p.m.

So this weekend I've been wrapped up in paper writing. I had the best feeling today, as I was sitting in the coffee shop a block from my house, surrounded with a stack of open books and papers, avidly writing. I knew people in that coffee shop. I know everyone who works there for starters. They opened about two months ago, and I'm there at least twice a week (sometime all weekend, like this weekend). Then there were some friends that met me there to do similar work. There was these two girls I'd met at a meet and great a few nights before, and a neighbor. It was a really great feeling.

The day before I was sitting in Borders (My favorite place for alone time, and this game I invented where you hide in the stacks and give hints about where you are to another person, who has to then come and find you)anyways, I digress- I was sitting in borders at 11pm on a Saturday night relaxing, totally out of my own head, and I see a friend. Without thinking, I say hi, and we get talking, I'm so sure she thought I was high or half drunk or something. I was so out of it. That's when small towns tend not to be so good- you dont always go out with the intention of meeting people you know, and might not be in the correct state of mind to act normal.

Of course I had had a lesson in NOLA as small town earlier in the week as well I can't really remember if I wrote about the meet and great I attended on Thursday, but basically I was invited to this exclusive little party bringing women together that work with those who have gone through traumatic events. The event was hosted by the New Orelans Gris Gris Lab . This particular event was hosted in order to introduce a group of traveling Indian, Pakistani and Afghani women doctors to others in their field here in the U.S. I was called on to represent Tulane's psych department, and child and adolescent trauma research. It was an absolutely amazing experience to hear about some of the work going on around the world in this field, and man was it good to have people that are actually interested in my work. Made me realize I reallllyy need business cards. Shereen Naser, aspiring PhD and idealist, the old ugly building at Tulane, phone number with an out of state area code. That's exactly what it would read. And the card would be purple.
There's a picture on facebook that other facebook users may access through my profile (I was tagged, I'm sure you can find it) of the group.
Anyways, two of the girl I met at this group were from an organization called Save the Children, a group that one of my clients was referred to. So of course I chased one of the girls down when I saw her wearing a Save the Children shirt, and got all kinds of juicy info on how they work, and got invited to come watch a session. So excited! It was awesome, and after I called a colleague of mine that is well versed with my case and told her about the experience. Of course she laughed at me, because she's from here, and was not at all phased by this chance encounter. "It's a small town Shereen, that stuff happens."
And she's right- it's a small town. Now everywhere I look I know people. It's a nice feeling. It's a feeling I had right before I left Austin, and thought it would take forever to reestablish here. Guess not.

P.S. I am currently wearing two pairs of socks over each other. It is officially too cold in my book. Back to my paper! (but not before giving you guys some great music! Acoustic version of Duke Spirit's Into the Fold. Enjoy!)

Here it comes, you better use it
Your gonna need her when you least expect it.
Money runs, what do you spend it on.
You are too busy just to take what you need.
This heart could heal, if you had the courage just to say what you feel.

Speak mother tongue. You're gonna come, into the fold where we all feel good.
Did you want advice for love and life, well this was all we knew.
We visit here but once my love now, what you gonna do?

Here it comes, i better use it.
I think of nothing as i'm spinning on an axis.
In place. Do you dedicate. Oh my mood will always turn.
And sweeter skin. There's never been, why i just made you out of my subconscious.

Speak mother tongue. You're gonna come into the fold whre we all feel good.
Did you want advice for love and life, well this was all we knew.
We visit here but once my love, no what you gonna do.

Here it comes, you better use it.
Your gonna need her when you least expect it. Money runs, what do you spend it on.
You are too busy just to take what you need.
This heart could heal, if you had courage just to say what you feel.

Speak mother tongue. You're gonna come, into the fold where we all feel good.
Did you want advice for love and life, well this was all we knew.
We visit here but once my love now, what you gonna do?

|