| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"you're nothing, you've got nothig at all, I threw you a rope you grabbed it broke, got nothing else in my hands" Joe Purdy
2009-06-19, 2:15 p.m.

I feel like the whole world is spinning so fast around me, like a cyclone, and I'm stuck in the eye of the storm. I'm sitting in the calm and watching things circle around me. It's the bane of my existence, but at the same time gives me a strange, enduring purpose. It allows me a comfort in my odd eccentric play of empathy and apathy- the kind that has me making fun of those who can't hold their own, but crying at a hallmark commercial. I feel like i could jump into the storm whenever i please but can saunter right back out. I revel in the defiance and self control it takes to be weirdly not-in-a-'cool'-way atypical, but still be ok with the fairytale every girl in my generation was promised by some voice behind a painted picture of perfection. I turned 23 yesterday, and I still want to be Cinderella in a way. (Disney really has their shit together. They will be our Brave New World.)
Enough self reflection.

For music here's what I've got for you kids today:

I've been listening to Harold Budd alot lately, he's the composer that did the music for Mysterious Skin (movie with Joseph Gordon Levitt). It's very . . . I don't even know a good word for it but it feels like being under water.

I'm currently listening to spoonfed by Marcy Playground - which just changed into sleater kinney's pristinna which I've had forever but haven't every actually listend to, it's rather good! Below is a song I listened to today with some snazy lyrics. Enjoy!


Joe Purdy "Take My Blanket And Go" :

Well the sun is sinking low
the hour is getting late
and you need something
that I can't live without
but I give in anyways

you're really in trouble this time
got no one left to blame
they pushed you down
when you called me names
but I loved you just the same

won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
ease your troubled soul
warm your weary bones

yeah what else do you do now?
you're nothing
you've got nothing at all
I threw you a rope
you grabbed
it broke
got nothing else in my hands

won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
ease your troubled soul
warm your weary bones

won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
won't you take my blanket and go
ease your troubled soul
when that cold wind blows
warm your weary bones

|