| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

2008 Vice Presidential Debate
2008-10-02, 10:47 p.m.

One thing I love about grad school is I spend 80% of my time talking about the things that Im learning. You prepare for the issue before you come to class, and you think about your position on it, then when you get to class, you defend your side, and address opposition using the things that you know. Then, when you actually get a client, you are reviewing the research and the counter research in your mind to make the best decision possible for your client.

What don't you do? You don't rely on your experience as a bulldog with lipstick, your pretty hair do and dropping your g's when you talk to save that client.

You might use it to establish rapport, sure. BUT THERE'S A TIME AND PLACE.

Sarah Palin acted so unprofessionally, so disgustingly ignorant tonight. But she scared me major. Here's why.
1) She looked good. Her makeup was toned, her blush not too much, and her eye glasses were shined.
2) She made jokes without tripping up, she made connections with people without tripping up, and she successfully circumvented every having to address any policy issues directly . . . without messing up.

This scares me because what swing voters are going to remember are the things she did do, but NOT THE THINGS SHE DIDN'T DO, WHICH ARE SO MUCH MORE IMPORTANT IN A DEBATE WHERE YOU ARE TRYING TO PROVE TO PEOPLE THAT YOU CAN TAKE CARE OF AN ENTIRE NATION.

She side stepped every serious question, she brought her resume into light, like McCain, every single damn time she was asked A POLICY ISSUE. The funny thing? SHE HAS NO RESUME. ALASKA'S POPULATION IS LIKE THE SIZE OF MY UNDERGRADUATE COLLEGE WOMAN!!!!

She was unprofessional, annoying, and condescending towards her opponent using little quips like 'whoa joe' or whatever the hell she said.

And that little kitchen table stunt?? Where were those kitchen table discussions when your daughter was having unprotected sex? I don't blame her, but if she wasn't so god damn on a pedestal, I wouldn't bring it up.

AND ANOTHER THING - the fact that your family was uninsured was not a selling point my dear. If you were uninsured and truly needing to pay medical bills, you wouldn't be backing McCains stupid idiotic health care plan.

I could go on for ages about how politically incompetent this women is, but beware fellow liberals, she might be politically incompetent but she looks amazing on camera and that, my dears, can unfortunately win an election.

I truly appreciated Biden's stance in this debate though. Note he rarely made any comments about Palin, instead he always directly commented on McCain. I thought that was super interesting. When Palin annoyingly would NOT let that stupid kitchen table kind of talk go, he finally countered her and said look, I might be a man, but I know what it's like to be a parent, I know what it's like to be a single parent, I know what its like to suffer loss. So shut the hell up.

And it worked (choking up about it did wonders too ; )


|