| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Imagine me asleep there, my heart asleep with no air" (Tegan and Sara)
2008-06-08, 7:56 p.m.

I wrote and published (online) a short story inspired by a tegan and sara song.
I thought it would be a flop, but I've gotten the most reviews on this thing EVER!!
Exciting!

(and no, I'm not sharing the story with you guys. I just wanted to share how happy I am it wasn't shunned ; )


But mostly I wanted to talk about this dilemma I've come across in this story of mine. A lot of people in the reviews are people who are madly in love with the idea of a certain couple in the story, and they've been asking for updates, and added the story to their favorites list, and update notification because of this couple. The thing is though, I wasn't planning on adding any more to it, and I wasn't going to keep the couple together. I was even thinking of killing someone off (angsty, I know).
But if I did that I know the 15 people who emailed me about the story today (i posted it this morning!) are going to be dissapointed.
Do I go with the story the way I would prefer it, or because I wasn't planning on going further with it, do I go ahead and just do it the way they prefer?

I mean part of me says since i'm no longer doing it for my own pleasure (I really rather kill them both off in two sentences and then not have to update the story at all) but I'm flattered by the attention and would like to have something to thank everyone for being so nice about it.

So I'm going to update it. Not the question is do I stay true to what I think my characters are? That's what everyone liked in the first place right? Or do I cater to their wishes for a happy ending?

I'll let you guys know what I come up with ; )


|