| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Ahh there's nothing wrong with them that a thousand books can't fix that a thousand arms can't hold down" regina
2008-03-30, 8:59 p.m.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/7320566.stm

http://www.imemc.org/article/53813

I'd like to call attention to the top two articles.
The first one details concessions made by Israel that strikes me as inherently funny. As I'm reading in Reinharts (very well written) book, Israel calls for these great gestures of compliance and peace.
While they are making these grand gestures they're shooting Palestinian teens for being in the "buffer" zone among other inconceivable atrocities (see yesterdays headlines. They were ridiculously morbid).
I actually get my news from an application that compiles all the latest news for me coming from a specific region. I get to read what BBC is saying, Haaretz, and XinHua (Chinese paper) all at once.
Oddly enough the Chinese seem more inclined to mention Palestinian deaths while BBC side-notes them on articles here and there. TO give them their due, they're much better than CNN etc.

The second article was a little more hopeful I think. It's always great to hear of nonviolent resistance in the territories (and from the diaspora as well).

As far as a journal entry goes, my mom is in the hospital for three days, don't really know why actually.
I grew up in them because of my biological mom (this sounds like an echo of an old entry) but every time I smell that anesthetic smell, every time I see the blinding white hallways, the tired circles around the nurses eyes, families wandering hallways aimlessly, I get this strange feeling of deja vu. I remember fragments of pictures but I never know how real they are. My heart starts racing and I get distracted by ribbons of scent or sound. I feel like I'm in some kind of time stop.
And then when I have to look at people with tubes sticking in every which way I feel a morbid curiosity.
I'm not scared of hospitals and I don't even feel like they're unpleasant. They just represent a fragmented but extremely important part of my life. When I walk into one or even pass by one, things start to come back to me, I remember a sight or sound or smell without knowing where its come from.

I was 8 when my mom died. Most people have solid memories before they were eight. I really don't have any strong memories from before I was eleven. I remember almost drowning once. I remember something my biological mom made me promise, but it's like I'm watching a movie, it seems ephemeral and beyond reach. I don't know if I've consciously suppressed earlier episodes of my step moms battles with herself or my biological moms battles with her illness, but it seems like something is trying to get through.

I personally don't care either way.
Even in my spirituality, I have a hard time, as Weird Al would say it "scoring points for the afterlife."

I'm spiritual because it behooves my here and now, not because of what comes after. I don't even believe in hell.

And and and.
Yesterday, while at work, I met the most AMAZING couple from Mexico (they came in to enroll their child).
The mom was tall and thing with short black hair and heavy bangs, and dad had light brown hair and was tall and looked french strangely enough. They had these oh so sophisticated accents, and and AND
the dad turned out to be this famous mexican actor, and mom a movie director.
Once they had their child they wanted to escape the "unhealthy" scene mexican movie scene and came to Texas.

HOW fabulous??

I want to write a story about them. I've been doing this thing latley where I start writing about characters and the story kind of comes out of it. I've figured I'm prime when it comes to characters, that's my favorite part. It's the rest that gets tedious ; )

and last thing, promise.
jeffbuckley.com has made this new Hallelujah video.

http://jeffbuckley.com/news.asp?id=113

check it out. It's as beautiful as always.

Goodbye lovers.
You're all amazing.

|