| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"You will come to a place where the streets are not marked. Some windows are lighted. But mostly they're darked." Dr Suess
2009-12-24, 10:36 p.m.

Just finished watching Forest Gump, again. That movie is so incredibly sweet. I think my favorite scene is when Forest is young and is being chased by those bully's, Jenny starts to tell him to run, and so he outruns them, chucking off his leg braces. Never fails to make me tear up. That and teaching Elvis to dance : ) I'm loath to actually write anything right now. I figure writing is for when you're ready to digest and mull over something, and I'm not really there yet. Instead, I'm going to let Dr. Suess do it for me. No matter what an individuals life situation is (good or bad) a certain "place" in "Oh! The Place You'll Go" by Dr. Suess will provide proper perspective and insight. Below is an excerpt for today

"I�m sorry to say so but, sadly, it�s true that Bang-ups and Hang-ups can happen to you.

You can get all hung up in a prickle-ly perch.
. . .

You�ll come down from the Lurch with an unpleasant bump. And the chances are, then, that you�ll be in a Slump.

And when you�re in a Slump, you�re not in for much fun. Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked. Some windows are lighted. But mostly they�re darked. A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin! Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in? How much can you lose? How much can you win?

. . .

You can get so confused that you�ll start in to race down long wiggled roads at a break-necking pace and grind on for miles across weirdish wild space, headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.

The Waiting Place�"

I would probably say my greatest weakness is when I feel I can't handle something (which is very, very rare mind you) my first instinct is to hit my mental panic switch and run as far as I possibly can in whatever direction I happen to go, as fast as possible- which according to Dr. Suess means you're about to hit the waiting place. Oh how I hate the waiting place. . .

|