| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"I know you feel it too, these words get overused, when we get up and over it and over them . . . for ways to remove all the bad that we do, form the heart and the soul of the city side and cold for ways to collect what we say and what we save"
2009-12-11, 4:50 p.m.

February 24th ladies and gents, February fucking 24th.
Tegan and Sara at Tipitina's. I'm SO excited, more excited than . . .I don't even know. More excited than if the pope were to give me a ride in the pope mobile- that's how excited I am. Ooh, more excited than I would be if I got to wrestle an alligator (I'd lose so miserably so it would probably need a muzzle- would still be so much fun).

I'm not getting my hopes up however, I have to take a look at my syllabi first and make sure it's not on the eve of an exam or something to that effect.

So I set this goal that I'd work today till 5. It's 4.57 right now, guess I couldn't make it. I was on a roll this morning, but my roommate got in a fender bender and I wanted to go pick her up, also needed to take her a set of spare keys for her car cause she locked them inside the car in a panic.

That's one thing I really wish I was good at- cars. You'd think spending my youth building them with my dad would have left me some working knowledge. I mean, I've helped him completely build cars from scrap metal. I just didn't take it as a learning opportunity at that point, more a "hang out with dad" opportunity. He's so amazing about that stuff though. I call him to ask about my roomie's car (it was leaking red fluid) and he's giving me all these super precise, exact details of what to do, and how. No one would guess that this man that's a software engineer and spends all day giving presentations and writing computer programs can build cars from scratch, has built half of pretty much every house we've lived in with his bare hands (no joke- kitchen we have now was an add on he built on his own in three months. Took three months but he did it)and is beyond amazing with kids. He also watches cheesy movies and is constantly singing- just so proud of him today.

I probably get my love of using my hands from my dad actually. Me and my sister Manar are builders- in another life I might have been a carpenter. A hobby I would love to pick up at some point is building really elaborate and beautiful book shelves.

Alright, enough time wasting. Enjoy the song, it's from Tegan and Sarah's new album Sainthood which I wrote off when it first came out, but am so mad at myself for doing because turns out it's pretty amazing. Definitely feeling the lyrics on it today. Much love.


|