| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"I want to draw you a floorplan of my head and heart" Tegan and Sara
2009-12-07, 9:05 a.m.

Random line of events for the sake of a blog entry-
So yesterday I was working on a take home test at The Bean Gallery. The purpose of working in a coffee shop is usually ease of congregation. This things must be done among friends to facilitate group complaining and whining about how much we hate the assignment, how bored we are with it, and get nods of agreement and empathetic exclamations of frustration. First line of business however is to swap Saturday stories. My Saturday started off at 8 with a hair cut. Long overdue. I had a bob awhile ago that grew out, which meant the hair towards the front was considerably longer than that in the back. It was then immediately followed by a trip to ARNO (animal rescue new orleans) to help transport animals to the monthly Freret Market where the animals are show cased in hopes that they'd get adopted. My rooomate and I were primarily responsible for three smaller dogs that kept yapping at each other the whole car ride. Thought we were going to die. Kalyn definitely drove over the curb a time or two because one of the smaller dogs, Bernard, kept trying to come up front by her feet, yapping at the dog in her lap the whole time. Needless to say we devised a way to keep them separate by some miracle of god, enough at least to last the majority of the 20 minute drive. So we get the animals back to the shelter at around 4.30. My next stop was a showing of the documentary What 1000 Muslims Think. I didn't go to watch the documentary, but rather to manage a booth that NOLAPS was hosting. By far one of the most interesting experiences I've had. The room was SO diverse. The event was essentially run by the muslim community, and they didn't advertise it, hence attendee's were all from the muslim community as well. I don't know if I've ever seen as many ethnicities in the same place. I was informed by a friend that the majority of these people were from the same congregation. There were African American folk, pakistani, indian, arab (iraqi, palestinian), white, mixed- you name it. And these people all go to the same place of worship every Friday. The concept was amazing to me, that this was so, that so many people of such different ethnic backgrounds came together to worship. Christian congregations? Well you have southern baptist congregations which are majority Black, you have special churches for a Chinese group, all your latino/latina's in one church, Koreans in another. I actually just watched a show talking about how catholic congregations are generally segregated- whites at one church, latino/latina's in another. Much of that has to do with language barriers I'm sure. You want to be able to understand mass. Having separate churches allows for worship in ones native language. In a mosque, worship is done in Arabic. Maybe all christian mass should be done in Latin? This is actually leading to a whole line of conversation (latin making mass less accessible for example)but I dont really have time right now . I have to get back to work on that take home test

Article that I LOVE
http://bitchmagazine.org/article/veiled-threat

|