| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"So shut your mouth, how can you say, I go about things the wrong way, I am human and I need to be loved, just like anybody else does" The smiths, or the T.a.T.u. cover. Either one's good!
2009-11-21, 12:20 a.m.

I got a call from my uncle today, my dads brother. I haven't spoken to him in something like a year and a half, two years. It was jarring. The earliest memory I have of him is him standing at the entry room to our house in California (4006 milton ave. castro valley CA, 94546. Will never forget that address!) screaming at the top of his lungs, calling my dad a bastard. First bad word I ever repeated. Had no idea what it meant, but I called my sister a bastard one day and got in ALOT of trouble.
I won't say he never did anything for me- he was the clown at many of my bday parties, etc. But the way he treats my father makes me resent him. For so much of my life, my dad was the only good thing around, and for his own brother to try to get me and my sister to turn against him, deliberately trying to encourage conversation about how "strict" our dad is, like a "tyrant," was low. He keeps trying to connect with me and Rhania by making fun of my father . . . it's immature and base. When I was younger I didn't really get it, but now that I do, I just couldn't care less about him. Of course, he calls to tell me he'd like to spend time with me when he's in New Orleans for a business trip early January. I'm wary. Maybe a dinner with him, or a couple of dinners, but a whole day? Possibly TWO days?? He's a cool guy, I probably get my love of music from him (and my dad- my family is very, VERY musically oriented. However my uncle is the one who plays a bunch of instruments, was in a band, etc). He's a lot like my dad actually. Outdoorsy and adventurous like my dad. Except my dad is noble, wise, kind, selfless and curious- my uncle is mischievous, full of bravado, the salesmen type. I really want to say nice things about him, and Rhania you're probably wanting me to say nice things. I love the guy because he's my uncle, and because my dad loves him so much. But if I was wasn't related to him . . .

|