| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

Have been avoiding this issue, but it's been occupying my mind these past few days . . .
2009-11-11, 12:43 p.m.

I'm not really going to say much. There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been said. Most of you already know that PTSD is my area of research, and that I specifically am interested in violence begetting violence. Most of you also know that I am part of an ethnic culture where my religious affiliations are a minority, often creating situations where I have to confront that dissonance at a very personal level. However, I wanted to post a few things I've read that were really interesting. Two are from the washington post, and another is a service provider in the fort hood area that totally rocks my world. It's doing a job that the military itself should be doing- what people fail to realize from an organizational perspective is that individual efficiency, specifically in high demand jobs emotionally and physically, or jobs that require high skills, are directly linked to physical and mental health. People's cognitive processes determine everything from attention to motivation- both for job completion and anti-social behavior. Even shakespeare knew this. Henry the V's motivational speeches to his troops anyone??
But that's neither here nor there- said I wasn't going to really say anything and I seem unable to NOT do so.

http://underthehoodcafe.org/

There's a quote in the below article about Under the Hood

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/11/06/AR2009110602072.html?hpid=opinionsbox1&sid=ST2009110603664

And an interesting op-ed
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/11/09/AR2009110902601.html?wpisrc=newsletter

|