| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Tried to trick myself into thining that I'm not awake, that it's only a dream" Gary Jules- Pills
2009-10-23, 10:19 a.m.

The amount of medication my clients are on right now makes me sick to my stomach. Abuse, trauma, learning disorders- I can that that all in stride. Medication however has been put on some sort of sacred ground, no questions asked. They're being dished out to second graders like jolly ranchers, without any follow up as to the course of the medication and patient adherence. The only part of that equation I can address is adherence- but if I had it my way I'd say chunk the stuff until we at least find out what's wrong. Then instead of taking a cocktail of stimulants every morning, we can pick one.
What makes it especially worrisome is the dosage of the medications- we're talking a 60, 70 pound child taking the same amt of the drug as a 20 yr old man. Longitudinal studies on ADHD meds have already shown stunted growth, and no long term benefits over and above cognitive behavioral treatment- and yet nothing has changed in the pattern of ADHD meds administered. It's just so sad that perception of a quick fix is more important and easily accepted than treatments perceived to require more time (not monetary mind you) investment.
Kind of like weight loss- people rather take a pill or have surgery than just run in the mornings and try to change their diet, or get positive support in changing their diet via a nutritionist.

Instant gratification.

Gary Jules- Pills

I've taken all my pills
But I'm still not sleepy
Tried to trick myself into thinking
That I'm not awake
That it's only a dream
Put that cigarette out
Don't ask me no questions
Salome dancing on my wall
And the shadows on the floor
Look so warm from here
I've seen it all before
Just one little lie
But the difference is this
It meant the world to me
Don't ask me no questions
"Take the wheel" she said "as I wander"
We could leave this town
I've got all I need: spirit, hope and joy
But no one knows me
I think I lost my pills
Guess I'll take my chances
I'm looking at the telephone
But nothing happens
I am well aware
That the morning is near
Put the radio down
Don't ask me no questions

|