| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"We've got the right to choose, and their aint no way we'll lose it, this is our life, this is our song, we'll right the power that be just dont pick our destiny, cuase you dont know us, you don't belong" Twisted Sister, We're N
2009-10-03, 9:37 a.m.

Yesterday night I went to go see Capitalism: A Love Story, the latest of Michael Moore's controversial documentaries. I went in it expecting to be inundated with the Moore perspective, bombarded with information that would leave me wondering what the real story was. Don't get me wrong, I always enjoy his documentaries, but I also always follow them with a lot of research. I find that Moore certainly never lies, but he also doesn't always tell the whole story. His newer documentaries had all seemed to be moving in that direction. I can appreciate the sentiment- get people worried, get them talking, get them doing something. And he always did as much, and I appreciated that.
"Capitalism" however was much more reminiscent of his earlier works like "Roger and Me," a piece about his hometown of Flint, Michigan. I absolutely loved it. I was hoping for more of a "here's what doesnt work, and here's what we can do to replace it" (he never even ventured to use the word fix). But between interviews of priests, congress men and women, and the small dude with a lisp from Princess Bride, there were relatively few mentions of a what a working system might look like.

But that's ok. At the end, Moore makes a plea to his audience- do something, and quick!! I guess it's up to us to find out what that something was?

Fight, stay in your homes, don't accept less than what you're worth. Pay attention. Washington and wallstreet think they can pull one over on use with fancy jargon and back door deals. Use grassroots efforts to block corporate fingers inching their way into government. Bank regulation.

So it was nice to see that movie, and then get to read this article in the post: Bank of America at a Crossroads

|