| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"It'll come to pass . . . so when you're feeling pain, don't feel ashamed" Jess Riberiro and the Bone Collectors
2009-09-07, 9:12 p.m.

So about a month ago I went to a Jeff Buckley tribute event. They had raffle prizes and I won (yay!) the "Grace Around the World" box set.
In it, there's an interview with JB that goes
"I walked, talked, ate, drank, fell in and out of love faster than anyone I knew. I guess I wanted to dash myself against the rocks."

The first thing that popped in my head? That's it! That's exactly what I've been trying to say. It seems like such a simple set of words, but I could never put it so eloquently. All my life, I've been trying to explain to people why I just move so quickly. I don't think I'm missing anything, and I also wouldn't say I'm impatient. I'm just pretty restless.

So that was fun.

I also attended southern decadence festival this weekend in the quarter. Southern Decadence is supposed to be this festival that celebrates gay life and culture, and carries a heavy note of sexual satire. It was very fun to watch everyone so happy and open. But of course, the evangelican 'street preachers (http://www.officialstreetpreachers.com/) came to give their two cents.
The problem? It was a circus act. It was not informative or educating - it was spiteful and vindictive, their media polluted with signs of Hell, and "warnings" that all hindu's, buddhists, and, apparently "good people" (I'm wondering if that was maybe a cult of some sort? Why would good people go to hell?) are going to hell.

The reaction from the crowd ranged from public exposure, cussing, same sex couples making out in front of them, peaceful counter protests, a ring of people making a circle around them to block others from having to read the signs, etc.

I won't go into a rant, I just wanted to paint a picture of what it was like. I felt really privileged to witness the exchange of emotions, and just the raw rage that came out of both sides.

I recognize everyone's right to protest, even if I don't agree and appreciate those who take the time to represent a side of a story the general population might not be aware of.

HOWEVER -(big however)- it was like watching the KKK attend a peace rally, or mardi gras. They're these ugly white guys yelling, screaming and foaming at the mouth, just inciting anger and hatred, and generally enjoying the attention (again, see website. Their strategy seems to be get as much attention as possible. I guess negative media is still attention?)

Anyways, that was my weekend. And I finally got one of those bracelets with the icons of the virgin Mary imprinted on wood, but it's much larger than the traditional ones. I absolutely love it. Alot like this but with bigger pieces, and sq. picture rather than oval http://www.collectiblewebs.com/lewiscollectibles/images/holyimagesbracelet.jpg

|