| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Blossom's that bloom so fine, just to drop from the vine, I've seen them all tonight" TV on the Radio
2008-09-10, 9:29 p.m.

The WEIRDEST thing happened to me today!! Fedora called me, and I know it said Fedora when it was ringing, but when I picked up I swear her voice sounded like David (yes, you Bradley) and I kept trying to say hello, and she kept saying it back, but she sounded like a he, and I was so confused, and then it cut off. She called me back and made fun of me thoroughly for that. I'm pretty sure it was the bad connection but I could have sworn it sounded EXACTLY like him!

So I taught my first class today. AWESOME. Loved it. The kids were super nice, and super responsive. I felt like we got a good connection going. I'm pretty sure they enjoyed me, and I'm pretty sure the only reason they enjoyed me was because I said I was born and raised in San Francisco (of course I followed up with attended high school and college in Austin, TX, which may have earned me one more cool point). I really like working with students who are motivated and committed. I mean I loved Kumon, but it felt like 90% of my job was motivating kids. College is awesome because the kids are already motivated, and well, paying to be there. And my students are older, which makes it even better.

I will admit that I'm feeling pretty shitty though (would I make an entry if I wasn't?). I'm feeling really lost right now, and disorganized. I'm sure it's mostly because I am lost and disorganized right now (my room is SHITTY, and the floor in my house needs to be CLEANED!)
So I've been listening to TV on the Radio like a mad woman to try to get me out of whatever super down slump I'm in, and it's working well. I've always liked them, but I'm pretty sure I'm getting sincerely obsessed. I really appreciate the song "Tonight" and it's been a real life saver.

I have SO SO SO SO SO many articles to read, homework to finish, and a masters thesis that I'm supposed to come up with by next week. So I'm going to go and get more sad and overwhelmed.

I love all of you guys.

best

|