| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"might even be my lover, yeah we can do it to each other" Yeah Yeah Yeahs 'Cold Night'
2008-08-21, 10:39 p.m.

I just saw broke back mountain again. It's agonizing watching that movie because it's a true modern day tragedy. For me it's more difficult to imagine the pains that romeo and juliet (and subsequent male female lovers with family problems) go through, because in our society today they are so easily resolved. Same sex relationships though are so much harder today (Laramie anyone?). I'm not saying that interracial/interreligious relationships are a piece of cake, they're just easier than they used to be, and easier to fess up to. Same sex relationships seriously still offend certain biggots to the point of hate crimes, like the one in Laramie, and self destruction because we're indoctrinated to believe that somehow it's wrong.

And I've said this 100 times, transcending any other theme, broke back mountain the movie and the short story are incredibly amazing. The story is played out well, the timing is superb, the ending ties up nicely, and the synchronization between the movie and the short story are really great.

So New Orleans is really awesome! I can't really say much because I've been at home most of the time but as my life gets more interesting I'll keep everyone updated ; )

love ya!

|