| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Calm down I'm calling you to say, I'm capsized erring on the edge of safe." The Con
2007-10-14, 1:37 p.m.

Today I have discovered the true power of internet networking sites. Besides being an insane type of voyeurism (hence why i tend to use them only for political vs. social purposes), i've actually FOUND someone whom I am not currently in contact with. How insane is that? It was semi-random too. I was looking for a friend (who i'm currently in contact with) so she could use the links on my page, when something caught my eye. A friend I'd had awhile back, and whom I remember very fondly in fact.
I messaged her, a daring thing on my part, and was sent back a confirmation that indeed she was my old childhood (middle school hood) friend. Interesting no?

There have actually been several studies that correlate spending insane amounts of time on networking sites with low self esteem. These people spend hours and hours and I think it's highly annoying. It allows you to out and out lie about whatever the hell you want to lie about, making it easier to deceive ppl, like the media doesn't do enough of that already, not everyone thinks it really is easy to be cool and perfect etc. It's worse than magazines because at least those are far removed. There's a difference between expressing yourself, and creating a facade to pretend express yourself.

So you won't often find me exalting myspace, facebook etc. but today I'll make a concession.
Myspace is good for semi-randomly finding people. Yay!

And I'm searching for grad schools right now. Do you know where the best ones are?? KANSAS, OKLAHOMA, ALABAMA, why the HELL would anyone of any intellect want to end up in hillbilly heaven???
Alas, it might be my untimely fate as well. An early death of all things diverse, strange and inspiring, and a rebirth of a country woman sophistication/victorian fakeness. I'll hold off as long as possible, like those bacteria that encapsulate themselves for hundreds of years waiting for just the right moment to reemerge and thrive. I will lay socially dormant until such a time where I can reemerge in a diverse society, aka my future job over the ocean, and a settling down in an Austin institution.

And I wont even MENTION politics. How the fuck am I supposed to go from huge liberal bush hating, open-minded-for-the-most-part town to bushtopia??? FUCK. thinking about it makes me want to hurt someone. preferably a republican.

Thursday night meetings with PSC have been fantabulous. We spend a half hour talking about things for the organization and another hour and a half dissing zionist assholes and pro-israeli fuckwads. I swear, those people are so mind lost I wouldn't know where to begin to point them in the right direction. Of course "it's bad to kill innocent people" and "you shouldn't occupy a people" or "genocide is bad" are wonderful places to start. What I meant to say, before i went on a rant, was it's nice to be with other people this year who experience the conflict as tI do. Not just palestinians, but people of jewish religion, and other ethnic descents as well. We have the perfect mix of people knowledgeable on the subject, and don't know alot but want to. It makes for nice discussion.

alright, now i have to go finish homework. I'm reading a Faust book about elite southern women during the civil war, it's is FASCINATING. I mean I knew they were racist and subservient, but I wouldn't have ever guessed just how much.
I left off reading a letter by a women to J. Davis asking him to please find her a job that would not "tax [her] mind and body"

insane.

I'm also desperately looking for a way to freely (monetarily) view Cold Mountain, for class. It's been more difficult than I thought.

Much love.

|