| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"What if I went and lost myself, would you know where to find me" Rosi Golan - Hazy
2010-02-08, 11:04 p.m.

New song for everyone. One of those songs I love playing/singing more than I like listening to it. Playing that song was especially moving today. I had my second session of group today. I don't know that I can actually talk about it here, but suffice to say I don't know how this city is going to survive. This is it's future. Children who can barely read in the 7th grade, can't concentrate in class because of shit going on at home and if they're not worrying and distracted by the past or present, they're worrying about the future- about getting pregnant, or being able to get out of whatever situation they're in.
And THAT'S not the daunting part. The daunting part is the people I work beside to provide services. There are only so many people, and they're all burnt out. And if they have any energy to work with the kids, they don't have enough funding to do just that- they've also got to do paperwork, and administrative crap that someone without an advanced degree can do. The system is so fucking inefficient. I'm not saying it doesn't work, it just doesn't work as well as it can, and it does a disservice to those who need it most, while providing more resources than you can ever ask for to those who just don't need it. Waste of time, waste of resources and waste of money.


I want to run an orphanage. I would have 30-50 kids, a good sized staff including teachers so that the home could also serve as a school. Well, not really an orphanage. More like a shelter for kids. Much like Boys Hope Girls Hope where parents who can't take care of their children financially get to keep contact with their children, but allow them to live in houses furnished and staffed by Boys Hope Girls Hope - an organization who then helps these children achieve academic success they might not have been able to if they were homeless.

|