| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go" Green Day
2008-05-17, 11:28 p.m.

HAHA. This blog NEVER fucking ceases to amaze me. Brenden, if you're still reading this dude, that message you sent me was SO funny. I keep getting all this shit from the past dredged up because of this here blog.
I LOVE it (sometimes) because it brings back the best memories (sometimes).

I have been LAZY since school's been out. I finally finishes the speech for Chicago (i'm leaving the 24th), I've been studiously apartment hunting though I have yet to really find anything substantial and am giving Leno some time to see if she can find a rock solid job in NOLA or in Oklahoma. Rhania's down here actually, and as fun *rolls eyes* as ever! (and I mean that in a very sisterly way).

It was really great to hear the other day that California has struck down the ban on gay marriage. It's back to the good old California I was born and raised in. speaking of which
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7406243.stm

I'm really happy for her.

I don't know that I can actually respect the institution of marriage until it allows EVERYONE in love (however fleetingly) to partake. It really bothers me that the government is playing like middle school girls (Um, sorry, you're not allowed because you're um, you know, different than us. So yeah.)
I honestly don't know that I want to be a part of that tradition until it does include everyone.

And a story I wanted to share.

"Hala Abdul Rahman is a doctor at the Palestinian Red Crescent clinic in Shatila camp. Palestinian refugees are not permitted to work in Lebanese hospitals or medical centres.

My family is from Kabri, northern Galilee. It was the scene of a big battle in which 100 British soldiers were killed in the 1930s. Afterwards everything was destroyed by Israel except the cemetery where my grandfather is buried. My brother and sister were both martyred in battles in the 1980s. The Israelis took my cousin to Ansar prison in 1982 and we never saw him again. But I consider myself and my family lucky. In some cases there were 'houses which were closed' (that is families where everyone died).

Palestinian doctors working for the UN make about $200 a month, which is not much for someone with medical training. Many qualified people leave to work in Europe or the Gulf, where they can make much higher salaries. But I am going to stay here, because the people in the camp need our help. "

BTW, today I'm officially a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. yay!

|