| new | old | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design |
last | next |

"And all I can do is read a book to stay awake, and it rips my life away, but it's a great escape" Blind Melon
2008-05-02, 10:25 p.m.

My mom's super sick and my grandfather has cancer.
They both have abnormal white blood cell count but never fear, they're both as sour and misanthropic as ever. The one difference is that his misanthropic nature is funny, hers is beyond annoying.
My dad is going on his sixth straight month of assholism. I can't think straight, and I have a research paper and five finals due. I'm playing nurse/babysitter, and I don't mind, but these things ALWAYS seem to land right in the middle of when I could maybe be possibly having a good time.
ASA's party was tonight and i didn't go, TSPA's mixer was this afternoon and I didn't go (but I did get a VERY strange phone call from johnny).

I'm not complaining, I love my family and all and I dont mind helping out, but I can't wait to go to new orleans. It is my sincerest wish that all my friends come and visit me in N.O.
Today on the bus, I totally designed my new apartment and tomorrow I'm going garage sale scourging to see if i can find stuff. My best garage sale find ever was this 1980s bright red leather purse for TWO DOLLARS. yay!

And I'm kind of sick and tired of the US and Israel calling for other arab countries to aid palestine. As far as I'm concerned, I'd rather they stay the hell out of it for several reasons
1) I don't want whatever chance at a palestinian state we have to become another saudi arabia or kuwait for that matter. arab money always comes with strings attached.
2) It's israel's responsibility to right the wrongs they've caused, they shouldn't be asking others to pick up their mess
3) I don't want to see this become yet another land grab, and
MOST importantly, when WWIII breaks out, I don't want my home country to be associated with syria or iraq, etc.
Palestine has it's own very real set of problems without being attached to any of the other problems in the middle east. I do believe we're more like Jordan and Lebanon than we are like Syria (though I have yet to visit there for obvious reasons) or Kuwait or S.A. etc. I mean really Egypt is much less like Palestine (or at least the West Bank) than Lebanon or Jordan.
And if I haven't mentioned it 100 times, I'll mention it now, I despise with the white hot intensity of a thousand suns, Ms. Rice. Despise.


and take a look at this
http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5iPqHBEPj4ksMsFdwx_Fx-yg_A_kgD90DIU280


this is important for several reasons. First off it's more than a crisis for just Palestinian refugees, many of whose main sustenance comes from U.N. aid.
It is also a MAJOR problem for other refugees around the world.
And not just for refugees but for all countries whose main staple is grain.
Remember that post I had awhile ago about becoming vegetarian and I was kind of iffy on the grain crisis issue, and how being a vegetarian would help?
Turns out it IS VERY MUCH a big issue. And that's straight out of the mouth of my botany professor.

As the price of gas continues to rise and we use more and more grain to feed our meat, the price of grains and corn also rises. And the problem is here in the U.S. we absorb these rising food prices (some that have doubled) but in third world countries where people are living on a dollar a day, these rising food prices mean they can't eat.
Keep an eye out for articles like these
http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1717572,00.html
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/02/29/AR2008022904029.html

While I was reading about this, another issue came up that relates the 2005 energy bill to the current food crises since a large majority of US corn is going into creating alternative fuel sources (so we can keep driving our god damn hummers).
Turns out Barak was all for this and Hillary was one of only 26 senators to foresee the downfalls of the bill (then again so was McCain).

Just something to think about.


All I can say is that my life is pretty plain

I like watchin' the puddles gather rain

And all I can do is just pour some tea for two

and speak my point of view

But it's not sane, It's not sane

I just want some one to say to me

I'll always be there when you wake

Ya know I'd like to keep my cheeks dry today

So stay with me and I'll have it made

And I don't understand why I sleep all day

And I start to complain that there's no rain

And all I can do is read a book to stay awake

And it rips my life away, but it's a great escape

escape......escape......escape......

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain

ya don't like my point of view

ya think I'm insane

Its not sane......it's not sane

|